In Exile, I Must’ve Gone

It’s been a while, folks.

Almost two years, in fact, since my last scribble on this game we all love to hate-and what a journey it’s been. Two new galactic legends, a slew of updates (they FINALLY gave us fleet loadouts!) and at least 3 CW Chewie shards between them and now.

As someone who was deeply passionate about theory crafting, but preferred the medium of script as opposed to forcing videos to be a minimum of 10 minutes, at some point (as many of us do) I got burnt out. I stepped away from this to focus on both real-life commitments as well as the game itself. I watched some of the YouTube videos, but mostly just kept my head down and rode the wave as many of us have.

But, after a recent change up in my guild which somehow landed me in an officer role, I was reminded about what I had once been reputed for-the crazy SWGOH conspiracy theorist (who just so happened to be more accurate on GL requirements than the more renowned content creators).

So here I am, after quite the quiet exile, to share one of the lessons I’ve learned in my peaceful hermitage on Days-Gone-By:

Know how you have fun playing the game.

At one point, I took a break from playing the game entirely. Work was too demanding, and my home life was in shambles as a result; I vividly recall trying to complete fleet missions, do GAC battles, and complete TB missions, all while rushing madly at work and suddenly realizing, “wow, this is making me absolutely miserable.” I left that job soon after that, and started looking at other aspects in my life that were draining-with the game being the main culprit. So I let my guild know, and for about three months I thought I quit the game. I stayed in the discord channel, but after some time I downloaded the game again because I was curious to see how things were going-and got right back into it.

This time however it was different. My mentality of playing the game had to shift; I was fiercely competitive and took losing/missing rewards poorly. I had been hyper fixated on my own roster and advancement, so the change in focus had to be there. As my guild welcomed me back with no hesitation (thank you RRC for that homecoming), I shifted to caring almost solely on Territory Battles. My roster, all the upgrades went to focus there, with only minimal effort being put to GAC-and only so I could advance my TB capacity

That change alone reinvigorated my passion for the game. Even when Rise of the Empire TB came on my guild mates and I took that challenge on eagerly, and as we learned how platoons and ideal squads were needed our rosters developed in kind.

Most recently, my guild started doing Relic 9 platoon requirements-and as someone who had been on the Mace Windu hype train, I was auto-selected to relic him up. Since my guild needed it, even though I’m working on a current/different farm that required R9’s, I had no issue dropping for this. The TB rewards alone will be worth it, as it supports the guild, which is why I play the game. Yes, I love Star Wars. I enjoy the collecting and leveling aspect of the game. My drive, however, is supporting my guild through advancement of my roster.

Which brings me all the way back to this. My name stay of being the village crazy person and reading in between the lines to foresee what Capital Games brings next to the game was always a fun challenge (and inciting the naysayers as well-y’all are my favorite anti-fans!). So, perhaps it is time to dust off the ol digital pen, get back into the groove of things and revel in the thrill of it. So, in the former usual groove of things-

And there we have it! I claim no liability for your SWGOH nightmares-that belongs solely in the hands of Capital Games. Until next time, holotable heroes! And don’t forget-relic 9 your Mace!

Published by CommanDollar

Star Wars: Galaxy of Heroes and Magic: the Gathering player. Married. Probably awake at hours that shouldn't exist.

One thought on “In Exile, I Must’ve Gone

Leave a comment